The Abattoir (An Ellie Danson Mystery)
 

I'm doing two Indie Books Reading Challenges for 2011 - the ABC Indie Fiction Challenge, and the I Heart Indie Books Reading Challenge (more details below). In helping to spread the word about the wonderful selection of Indie books out there, I'm going to be blogging about my progress and reviews. 

My 33rd review is of The Abattoir - a fast-paced thriller.

About The Abattoir
 
For Fans of Patricia Cornwell, Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter comes a new tale of psychological suspense. The Abattoir (An Ellie Danson Mystery) is a fast-paced tale of life or death between an ambitious cop and an obsessed killer. 

A Killer Goes Public

A cunning, vicious serial killer stalks the glamorous Meatpacking district in lower Manhattan. Bored with killing in secret, he raises the stakes by leaving cryptic clues in his victims’ own blood.

A Cop in the Cross-Hairs

Detective Ellie Danson is tapped to tag along with an investigator from the Homicide Squad at Manhattan South, due to her knowledge of the city’s red-light districts. When the killer develops a fascination with her that comes to border on obsession, Ellie begins to wonder just how high a price she’ll have to pay to draw him out.

Closing the Circle

As she closes in on the killer, his kills become even more gruesome, violating every rule of common decency in his quest for inspiration. With her life hanging in the balance, Ellie manages to bend a few rules of her own, leading to shocking revelations and a desperate, final confrontation that only one will survive. 

The Abattoir is a relentless, fast-paced narrative of 40,000 words.

Review

When a serial killer turns his attention to the lead detective on his heels, the case gets personal, and it's a race against time for Detective Ellie Danson to catch him before he catches her.

This is indeed a fast-paced and gripping read. I couldn't put it down! Creepy, chilling, and a roller-coaster of action!


The Abattoir is available from Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk.

 
 

The ABC Indie Fiction Challenge...

In order to join in, you must read 24 novels in 2011 by Indie authors. One of the key rules is that each story must be written by a different author, and the first letter of the authors' surnames must begin with a different letter.

For more details, a suggested reading list, and to sign up, head on over to quillsandsebras:
 

http://quillsandzebras.wordpress.com/2010/12/10/abc-indie-fiction-challenge

 


The I Heart Indie Books Reading Challenge...

 

I've come across another fantastic reading challenge for all you lovers of fiction out there. The I Heart Indie Books Reading Challenge is easy and low-key. All you have to do is read between 1 - 30 books in 2011 in any genre.

For more details about the challenge, check out... 

http://indieparanormalbooksreviews.blogspot.com/2010/12/i-heart-indie-books-reading-challenge.html

Both readers and authors are encouraged to participate.

If you need a suggested reading listcheck out my Ebook store for some fab Indie Authors.

 
My Challenge count

ABC Challenge:
 

A (Atkinson)
A (Ashor)
C (Carver)
C (Chen)

C (Comley)
D (Desforges)
E (Evans)

F (Fasano)
F (Fairchild)
G (Gale)
G (Green)

G Gaughran)
H (Hohenstein)
H (Halliday)
J (Juba)
K (Kirby)
K (Kappes)
K (Kevin)
L (Lieu)

L (Lim)
M (Morimer)
M (Maarten)
O (Osterkamp)
P (Pierce)

S (Smith)
S (Sullivan)
S (Scott)
S (Scott)
T (Tyrpak)
T (Tirraoro)
T (Tyley)
T (Taylor)
Z (Zeltserman)



IHIB Challenge:  33


Happy Indie Reading!


Sibel xx