Burn Out 


I'm doing two Indie Books Reading Challenges for 2011 - the ABC Indie Fiction Challenge, and the I Heart Indie Books Reading Challenge (more details below). In helping to spread the word about the wonderful selection of Indie books out there, I'm going to be blogging about my progress and reviews. 

My seventeenth review is of Burn Out - a captivating thriller...

About Burn Out...

For fans of Sue Grafton, Lisa Gardner, and Mary Higgins Clark comes a new suspense novel by Traci Hohenstein...

Lt. Samantha (Sam) Collins, a firefighter, vanishes after a warehouse fire the week before she was to testify at her estranged husband’s trial for drug charges. The only clue to her disappearance is a firefighter helmet that was left behind at the scene.

Rachel Scott founded Florida Omni Search after her own daughter disappeared when she was four. She has worked with law enforcement agencies all over the United States in locating missing people. Sam’s mother calls Rachel for assistance in locating her daughter. However, the search for Sam takes her on a journey that she never expected. 

As she digs deeper into Sam’s past, she finds out more about the marijuana operation her husband Ken, a former police officer, was involved with. 
In her desperate, terrifying search for Sam, Rachel also discovers clues about her own missing daughter, Mallory. 

Will she locate Samantha in time and also find out what happened to her own daughter?

Review

After the disappearance of her daughter, Mallory, Rachel forms a missing person organization and is quickly on the hunt for a firefighter who has gone missing in suspicious circumstances. Where is Sam? Is she dead? And if not, how did she escape from a collapsed building with no one noticing? 

This is a captivating story that will have you dying to turn the pages, and a must read for fans of Lisa Gardner. Traci Hohenstein has weaved together a great mystery/thriller, and I hope there's going to be another in the series. Strong female characters, a hint of romance, an intriguing plot, and a missing person. It's got everything you want for an engrossing novel!


Burn Out is available from Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk 


 
 

The ABC Indie Fiction Challenge...

In order to join in, you must read 24 novels in 2011 by Indie authors. One of the key rules is that each story must be written by a different author, and the first letter of the authors' surnames must begin with a different letter.

For more details, a suggested reading list, and to sign up, head on over to quillsandsebras:
 

http://quillsandzebras.wordpress.com/2010/12/10/abc-indie-fiction-challenge

 


The I Heart Indie Books Reading Challenge...

 

I've come across another fantastic reading challenge for all you lovers of fiction out there. The I Heart Indie Books Reading Challenge is easy and low-key. All you have to do is read between 1 - 30 books in 2011 in any genre.

For more details about the challenge, check out... 

http://indieparanormalbooksreviews.blogspot.com/2010/12/i-heart-indie-books-reading-challenge.html

Both readers and authors are encouraged to participate.

If you need a suggested reading listcheck out my Ebook store for some fab Indie Authors.

 
My Challenge count

ABC Challenge:
 

C (Chen)
C (Comley)
E (Evans)
F (Fasano)
F (Fairchild)
G (Green)
H (Hohenstein)
K (Kirby)
L (Lieu)

M (Maarten)
P (Pierce)

S (Smith)
S (Sullivan)
S (Scott)
T (Tyrpak)
T (Tirraoro)
Z (Zeltserman)



IHIB Challenge:  17


Happy Indie Reading!


Sibel xx